come check out my awesomness

Confession ( I’m not perfect) :)

My living room, the movies are jacked up and check out my little clutter corner

My living room, the movies are jacked up and check out my little clutter corner

Clutter on my hutch

Clutter on my hutch

Eek look under my sink

Eek look under my sink

I am not perfect at cleaning my house, far from it actually. As a child i was never taught the importance of keeping a clean and organized house, I lived with my mother and stepfather from the age of about 14 to 17, and looking back now i realize how nasty their house was, a fact that i was oblivious to at the time. The walls were yellow from cigarette smoke, ashtrays were over flowing, to the point that there were cigarette buts all over the tables and in the floors, cock roaches were awful, the counters had (no exaggeration) not been wiped off for years, the refrigerator was filled with rotten food and meat, and my mother and step father would hide food under their bed so that i couldn’t have any, so the mice were really bad as well. That is what i lived in, so when i met and moved in with Darrell, he was more than a little shocked at what i thought was clean. Over the years since, it has been an ongoing battle with myself just to notice things that others automatically notice. Things like dusting, organizing toys and papers, and i am awful about throwing useless items under my kitchen counter. I have came very far from what i used to consider clean, but I still have to put myself in check about certain things. I hate that i was not raised to care about things like toilet paper rolls, you hear people debating about whether the toilet paper should hang over or under, and i dont even care if its on a holder (but i want to care). Now dont get me wrong my house is not filthy or even dirty for that matter, but i wish i was the way most women are, most women are perfectionists at keeping their houses clean, and it just comes so naturally to them, i envy that. But anyway if yawl have any ideas on how to cut back on clutter (we live in a 2 bedroom house with 3 kids) or have any cleaning tips and tricks, that would be awesome.

41 responses

  1. Not to worry, none of us are perfect. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    June 8, 2014 at 12:27 pm

    • Lol true, I know a few people who think they are though.

      Like

      June 8, 2014 at 12:30 pm

  2. I’m helping my mom clean her house. Then, I start mine

    Like

    June 8, 2014 at 1:26 pm

  3. None of us are perfect, we just do the best we can each day. I find the only way I can get on top of this is by having little routines. Like in the evening I do the dishes, then clear off the counter. If someone else does the dishes I always for get the counter!!! There is a great website called ‘the fly lady’ that really helps with making things seem achievable, and giving you guidelines on what to do. You just need to get past how annoyingly chirpy she is (LOL)!! http://www.flylady.net/

    Like

    June 8, 2014 at 6:08 pm

    • Thanks so much for the link I will check it out. 😉

      Like

      June 8, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    • Cathy the Bagg Lady

      Good link. Thank you, Cathy the Bagg Lady

      Like

      June 8, 2014 at 7:48 pm

  4. Ok, in these pictures, your house looks great. You realize that, right?? And under the sink? Is that supposed to be tidy? It’s the perfect place to stash some things, right? It sounds like you’ve come a long way, and I think you’re probably doing an awesome job. Roll Tide! (Let me know if I need to explain the roll tide….) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    June 8, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    • Thank you so much, that is very appreciated. I do worry a lot that even if I dont think something looks bad, that it really does and I just dont notice. And yes please explain the roll tide…. cause I dont have a clue.

      Like

      June 8, 2014 at 7:18 pm

      • Haaaa! Sorry! Alabama football fans. We say Roll Tide for everything. It’s a good thing. Like a pat on the back, or a hello. There was an ESPN commercial all about it. You might find it on You Tube. I am a big time Alabama football fan.

        Like

        June 8, 2014 at 7:34 pm

  5. Cathy the Bagg Lady

    WHAT? You’re not PERFECT? Really now!
    Like I always tell my daughter, the house may be a little messy but it is far from unclean! I remind her over and over again that she works full-time, has two boys (ages 2 1/2 & 5) and a working husband who doesn’t help out. Give yourself a break! That goes for both of you.
    i am disabled, back and knees as well as the chronic pain that goes with them. When I was able bodied my house was very clean and very organized. Not the case now. It takes me over an hour just to load the dishwasher, I can’t vacuum or mop or scrub out the bathtubs. I can’t afford a housekeeper even on a limited basis. Enough about me.
    Your photos just don’t show a messy life! Quite the opposite your home looks clean and comfortable (not a home where no one is comfortable because they might wreck something). Who really cares what is under your sink? If you have guests who do then I guess they will either be asked not to return or told to just deal with it. Besides who really wants to be perfect anyway?!?
    Ta Ta for now, Cathy the Bagg lady

    Like

    June 8, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    • Thank you so much hon, your words are very appreciated. And im sorry to hear you are having such a hard time. Thanks again.

      Like

      June 8, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      • Cathy the Bagg Lady

        Thanks but my disability began 16 years ago. It is status qua at this point but I do appreciate your expression of concern. BTW I just made reference to your post in the post I am working on. It will be published shortly and the title is “Your House Chaotic?”
        Cathy

        Like

        June 8, 2014 at 8:23 pm

      • Awesome thank you, I cant wait to read it. 😉

        Like

        June 8, 2014 at 8:24 pm

  6. I like to sort areas, like a side of a room at a time, or one closet at a go. With a garbage bag and two boxes. One box is for giveaway, one I want to give away, but the things are the children’s or I am not sure, and what I keep I put back. So about twice a month, I give a box to charity. If I keep stuff going out, I have room for what’s coming in. That said, my house is messier than yours, so it might not be the best method…

    Like

    June 8, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    • I am gonna have to start doing that to, it sounds like a very good way to eliminate the clutter. And I may have straightened up the living room, just a little before i took the pic. 😉 Lol

      Like

      June 8, 2014 at 9:47 pm

  7. Pingback: Your House Chaotic? | Bagg Lady's Buzz

  8. I am absolutely horrific about housework. My mom was very good at keeping a clean house. I don’t know why that gene didn’t pass down to me. I was honest with my husband when I first met him that was I was “domestically challenged.”

    Like

    June 9, 2014 at 12:08 am

    • Domestically challenged, I like that. I just always thought I was born without that feminine gene, that makes women perfect at cleaning and decorating.

      Like

      June 9, 2014 at 6:54 am

  9. Our house was a wreck growing up. Six latch-key kids and a mom who worked fulltime – goodness. It was atrocious. Not quite “food under the bed,” but it was pretty bad. Raising my own kids, my house looked pretty much like yours – neat, tidy, clean. Skills I learned more in adulthood than childhood. But under the sink? That doesn’t count at all. I went through a stage when my kids were in their teens where my house was eat off the floors clean and looked like something out of Better Homes. (Not even kidding – I was totally anal about it all.) What a waste of time and money!! We have since got a lot smarter about things. Our house is now a tiny cottage, 3 bed, 1 bath. We have dust and cobwebs here and there. Nothing is matchy matchy because that is a luxury I can neither afford nor be bothered to care about. 🙂 It is tidy-ish, but don’t look under the sink! Your house is lovely – change nothing. Your boys are seen to be happy and “together”. This is a big accomplishment! But the toilet rolls? Over. Always over. No exceptions. (a relic of my OCD years…) haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    June 9, 2014 at 3:58 am

    • Thank you, and now I have to finally put my toilet paper holder on the wall, and promptly make sure its hanging over not under. Lol thanks again. 🙂

      Like

      June 9, 2014 at 6:50 am

  10. Dear Diana,
    I think your house looks great! Much like you, I grew up in a house of clutter and filth and it turned me into a neat freak adult. Unfortunately, neither extreme is good and being obsessively clean can be hard on kiddo-mama relationships.
    FORTUNATELY, I figured out early that it was more important to lay on the floor nose to nose and play with my kids than to worry about the cheerios and dog hair in the corner.
    published a post a few months ago called Clean vs Tidy where it talks about my endless battle to keep the house clean and still be a good mom. It’s something we all struggle with (that perfection thing) and you are not alone. One thing I still do is eliminate the clutter at the start. If I don’t love something (clothes, shoes, dishes, gifts, etc) I won’t buy it. I quit buying things just because they are on sale. That’s reduced the clutter by 50-75% in the last 5 years. Not to mention…saved $$$
    And the under the sink thing? MAMA! Don’t give away our secrets…it’s the best place to stash when unexpected company shows up (that, and the dryer and the dishwasher and the closets…)
    Confession: it’s Monday morning and guess what I’m off to do before going back to work this week? Yep. Clean house!! xo

    Like

    June 9, 2014 at 6:26 am

    • Thanks hon, I really appreciate your words. And I am gonna go check out your clean vs tidy post.

      Like

      June 9, 2014 at 6:44 am

  11. From the pictures, the house looks fine to me.
    I’m like you. I think we waste too much time cleaning the house. I don’t want my place to be crazy messy, but I don’t want to be slaving every day over it either.
    My wife has a system. I’m not sure how old your kids are, but it works fairly well for us.
    Every day we each have a chore or two to do. For example, every day one of the kids quickly sweeps the floors. Another empties and fills the dishwasher etc. Once a week, usually Sunday, we all spend an hour doing a more thourough clean. With four of us, this gets done fairly quickly as long as we work instead of try to get out of it.

    Like

    June 9, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    • That would be great if everyone was willing to pitch in, but it would probably be about like pulling teeth. Lol. My 10 year old dj does help out some though. Well I have a 19 year old step son, but he doesnt live here anymore, and my other boys are 10, 4, and 2.

      Like

      June 9, 2014 at 3:03 pm

      • It took some time for my wife to pull it all together as well. But it’s worth it once its done. Otherwise, people just expect you’ll do it for them.
        As my Nan used to say, ‘many hands make light work’.

        Like

        June 9, 2014 at 3:09 pm

      • I guess I will have to start sticken to my guns, no matter how much fussing and complaining there is. 😉

        Like

        June 9, 2014 at 3:13 pm

  12. First, none of us is perfect so relax. Plus we all have our home weaknesses. I get a problem with throwing things, I’m a pack-rat. Trying to reduce the clutter by Throwing out anything that I haven’t used for like six months at most. I’m also trying to give out something old for every new thing I get. That way you make room instead of piling the old ones somewhere.
    I hope this helps 🙂

    Like

    June 10, 2014 at 5:15 am

    • Thanks I definitely need to start throwing stuff out.

      Like

      June 10, 2014 at 8:01 am

  13. Let me say that I grew up the same. I never remember my mom cleaning anything. Cooking was a rarity. Baking? Never. I hate cleaning and hate that I hate it. I love a good clean house but getting there to that point? Meh glad to hear I am not alone there !!!

    Like

    June 11, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    • Most definitely not alone.

      Like

      June 11, 2014 at 10:11 pm

      • Did you get any good tips? My thing? Pots and pans. They are in this cluttered mess under my sink. I hate them. Lol. And kid clutter. No organization.

        Like

        June 11, 2014 at 10:12 pm

      • Yeah there is also a good link in the comments, that is real good.

        Like

        June 11, 2014 at 10:13 pm

      • I will scroll down then :). Thanks!!!

        Like

        June 11, 2014 at 10:14 pm

      • Sure thing girlie. 😉

        Like

        June 11, 2014 at 10:16 pm

  14. I totally know where you’re coming from. I can’t stand living at home anymore and just look forward to day I get my own place. I don’t think your place looks that bad, but for helpful tips to get rid of clutter, Pintrest is full of them.

    Like

    June 22, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

