come check out my awesomness

If you disagree with me you are a Racist

images (42)In this day and age people are so quick to give you a label it will make your head spin. The other day i was having a conversation with a woman i met through wordpress, and everything was going great, until we started to talk about politics. We were talking about President Obama and i said i couldnt wait until we have a new president and that i think Obama is one of the worst presidents we have ever had. Her response shocked the crap out of me, she said oh i didnt realize i was talking to a racist goodbye. My first thought was, what just happened.Then as the shock started to wear off i got mad. This person had no interest in finding out why i think Obama is a bad president, she just jumped right to racism. So I was called a racist simply because i dont like what this person stands for, and they happen to be a different color than me. Seriously? So because i didnt think Bill Clinton was a good president either, what does that make me? People need to stop being so friggen dramatic all the time, calling someone racist, or a bigot, or sexist, or anything else without a reason to do so just makes you look stupid, and by doing things like that you really hurt the cause of trying to stop racism, because its hard to take someone seriously when they keep throwing words around that they seem to not even know the meaning of. So for anyone out there reading this, disagreeing with someone of a different color does not make you a racist,so please if you dont know what the word racist means just keep your mouth shut. Thanks

34 responses

  1. Amen!! It’s best to just write those types of people off as uneducated and as bigots. “Ain’t nobody got time for that” πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    July 7, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    • Yep I know, but oh my gosh it really did make me mad. Why do people say stupid stuff?

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 12:26 pm

      • Mainly cause they’re stoopid lol They have no idea what they’re talkin’ about most of the time and just say what comes to the feeble little minds.

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 12:30 pm

      • Lol, I guess πŸ˜‰

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 12:31 pm

  2. Erika

    I am personally a fan of president Obama. However I there are a multitude of people who are not. Not to said that there are not people who just dont like him because of the color of his skin. But definitely not in every case.
    But I’ve been in your shoes before. I was in the gym one day and I found myself in the middle of a conversation about a book a man wrote about why men cheat. I made the comment that I thought the book was stupid. I just felt like it was for men to direct women on how to behave so they wouldn’t be cheated on. Well in a rage to win the debate one of the women asked well do you like men.
    That pissed me off to no end. Because I disagreed with this stupid book I must be gay. I still didnt understand her logic. But gave her a few choice words that ended the debate.
    Sorry you had to go through that but we do live in a freedom speech nation.

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 1:14 pm

    • Yes and im glad we live in a nation with free speech, but it would be nice if people didnt speak with such ignorance.

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 1:22 pm

      • erika

        If I could control ignorance I would walk around with a pocket full of muzzles….

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 4:30 pm

      • Lol, good idea. πŸ˜‰

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 4:32 pm

  3. Unfortunately, we are in an era of ignorance and are experiencing an explosion of outdated thinking. With technology, people can now display their racist rants and ignorance all over discussion boards without any backlash (unless your a celebrity :). And now with all the situations reported by the media, a new frenzy over racism has developed. As a result, people are more sensitive than ever. And with that sensitivity comes ignorance–no different than the ignorance that started this problem to begin with.
    The hard part is that people of color really have had a go of it lately with all the political rhetoric going on. What they don’t realize though is so have white people. Like it or not, we’re now back to that whole outdated notion that “if you’re white you’re a racist.” And we’re also back to “if you’re not white, you’re ignorant and a criminal.” It’s a back and forth discussion created by ignorant people, and so the non-ignorant people get stuck in the middle whether we want to or not. I have found that you could be talking about your baby taking a poop, and someone will find a way to turn the conversation into right vs. left, gun control, or black vs. white. It’s sad and grotesque to witness all at once.
    As for your experience, I know how you feel. I’m not white, but I experienced something similar. I met a young woman I really liked. Based on the way she carried herself, I took her to be articulate and educated, so when she asked me who I would vote for in the upcoming election (Bush vs. Kerry), I didn’t hesitate to respond. I told her I was voting for Kerry because I hated Bush. I wasn’t crazy about Kerry, but I just knew I didn’t want another 4 years of Bush (I’m sure we have all felt that way about a president no matter what color we are). Let’s just say that was the biggest mistake. By the end of the conversation, I was a murdering baby killer who hated America. Let’s just say the woman and I never spoke again.

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 2:34 pm

    • Yeah like I have said many times before most people really love that drama, and will try to turn anything into a dramatic event. I guess the best thing to do is just try to ignore it but people can make it pretty hard sometimes. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 2:41 pm

  4. Unfortunately there are many people who are just talking to talk and then they forget to listen and sometimes also to shut up.
    You are right πŸ™‚

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    • Thanks hon, its really to bad to, because the more you listen tue more you stand to learn. πŸ™‚

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 3:38 pm

  5. That just makes me angry! If Obama was white would they have said the same thing? No, they would not have! Peo l e get crazy over politics girl, I seen my entire family fight on Facebook because some are pro Obama and some are not! Long story short family actually stopped talking to each other over it! Sorry you had to deal with this ignorance it is just so unnecessary especially since the last I had checked we lived in the year 2014!

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    • Thanks hon, people will use any excuse they can to try and start trouble. And thats fine if thats who they wanna be, like I said though it really makes them look stupid.

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 6:30 pm

  6. I am sorry you had such a snap judgement response. I think the internet is often a shield or mask, allowing one to do and say things that are not to be done nor said in person, and that could be a factor in why you were dismissed in such a way. I don’t know anything about domestic politics, but I would hope that all Americans would agree to disagree, whatever their reasons. Because otherwise we are left with a monoculture that squashes dissent, and that is a prime feature of dictatorship. We know how that ends up. Let’s just all talk to each other, and be glad we don’t all have a blind loyalty to our leader. Bit of a ramble, my apologies.

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    • No apology necessary, thats all I want to. I dont mind if someone disagrees with me, but I dont like being accused of something I am not guilty of out of ignorance.

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 9:38 pm

  7. Happens. I had a friend who thought I was open minded as long as I agreed with her.
    As a non-American, I never understood what Obama really stood for. I always thought he was more polished speech than anything else. Why don’t you like him as President?

    Like

    July 7, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    • Numerous reasons, but the main thing is how he feels about abortion, and his constant back peddling everything is about popularity with him. People can say what they want about Bush but at least he stood his ground and didnt change his opinions for popularity points. But my favorite president would have to be Ronald Reagan.

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 9:33 pm

      • Reagan was too far back for me to remember too much. Despite his charm and Monica, I thought that Clinton did a decent job, I thought. Bush yes. Like or dislike him, at least you knew what he stood for

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 9:48 pm

      • A lot of people dont realize it, but clinton was actually the one who destroyed a lot of our jobs, he is the one who signed the free trade agreement. Most thought it was Bush’s fault cause we didnt suffer the repercussions of it until he was in office.

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 9:55 pm

      • Oh… I did not realise that.

        Like

        July 8, 2014 at 12:37 am

    • Also you probably never understood what he stands for because there is nothing, everything he says is subject to change at the drop of a hat.

      Like

      July 7, 2014 at 9:36 pm

      • I always thought that his spin -doctors were good..

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 9:50 pm

      • Yes they are very good at what they do.

        Like

        July 7, 2014 at 9:56 pm

  8. If I could hit like several times, I would :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    July 8, 2014 at 8:42 am

    • Thanks im glad you liked it, just a little bit of a rant, but good advice to. ;

      Like

      July 8, 2014 at 8:46 am

  9. DarcSunshine

    I couldn’t agree more. Wow! I mean unreal, but yet it happens all the time. People jump to conclusions without THINKING first. It’s sad…

    Like

    July 8, 2014 at 11:57 am

    • Thanks, people now a days have a bad habit of speak now think later. And you’re right it is sad.

      Like

      July 8, 2014 at 12:01 pm

      • DarcSunshine

        Exactly and unfortunatly sometimes they don’t even think later

        Like

        July 8, 2014 at 1:52 pm

  10. Probably one of the most annoying things a person can do as you know from my posts. I completely understand your frustration!

    Like

    July 8, 2014 at 6:42 pm

  11. I personally really like Obama. (from the small amount of information I have access to, lol)
    I also really like many of his administrations policies – which is one of the reason I tend to like him.
    I live in Australia, though recently had the opportunity to do some research on the American Health Care System and wrote a blog about my general opinion.
    Many people disagreed with my position – and they provided some very valid reasons why. I enjoyed having the conversation because it was a great opportunity for me to expand my own knowledge base.
    During my time in forums and on YouTube clips, I’ve had comments left that called me a N****r Lover and was dumbfounded. I provided sounds reasoning for my position that relates directly to policy and still get that crap.
    I think like many other commenters have stated, some people don’t even want to know the reasoning behind your opinions. That’s genuine ignorance. It doesn’t take too long to realise you couldn’t even begin to have a logical conversation with someone like that.
    Great, reflective post πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing
    Miss Lou
    xx

    Like

    July 8, 2014 at 11:15 pm

    • Thanks for the support, it is very appreciated.

      Like

      July 8, 2014 at 11:23 pm

      • πŸ™‚ You’re welcome
        ML
        x

        Like

        July 8, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

