come check out my awesomness

I am Strong

I was sitting alone this morning, my little ones all still asleep, and my mind began to drift.
I started thinking about my mother and her side of the family, who i havent spoken to in over 3 years and i was remembering some of the things they use to say to me, things like how i would never amount to anything, or that i would be in prison by the time i was 15. At the age of about 7 i loved playing with my mothers makeup and getting dressed up, there response was to call me their little street walker, thats a really cute thing to say to a 7 year old little girl huh?
There have been a lot of people mainly family members, who have always looked down on me, they were mean, cruel, and heartless, from the beginning it was like they were trying to set me up to fail, encouraging it, and now that i am not a failure they want no part of me.
All things considered I would have every right to hate them but i dont, no i dont hate them I am grateful.
I am grateful because i know i am strong, because of the things they said and did i know i can persevere through anything, no matter what someone throws at me i can take it. Im thankful for their hatred toward me because it has fueled the fire for me to overcome, their attempts to destroy me have not worked, because of them i am strong, i am resilient, i am better, and its partly because they never thought i would be.
So to anyone who doubted me before, doubts me now, or will doubt me later, its okay and thankyou for giving me that extra something, Thankyou for making me stronger, it wasnt your goal to do this but it is exactly what you have done. As i was writing this post i remembered this song, and thought i would include it, it pretty much sums everything up.

25 responses

  1. From what little, but significant, history of yours that I know, and the fact that we have never known each other in “real life”, I am so very proud of your accomplishments and the life that you have made for yourself and your family. I feel as if I know you and we have been friends for a long time. Great job love!!

    Liked by 2 people

    July 26, 2014 at 10:08 am

  2. First of all that is an awful thing to say to a seven year old! Second great post! I have always said that the best thing that you can say to me is that I can’t do something because I am for sure going to show you that I can! I suppose we are similar in that sense! My family is 20 minutes away and are not a major part of our lives. I remember my mom telling me that she couldn’t visit because she has a life. Now I have a decent relationship with my mom, but it could be better! She is who she is and I am who I am so I visit when I can. The past shapes us into who we are today and you are doing an awesome job! Being a great person, mom and wife is definitely amounting to something! Oh and being able to fix cars, that’s pretty awesome too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    July 26, 2014 at 11:48 am

    • Thankyou so much sweetie, having this blog has definitely helped me because for a long time I believed everything they said, but not anymore thanks largely to yawl, my friends.

      Like

      July 26, 2014 at 11:52 am

  3. you’re strength and openness is admirable! I don’t understand how a parent could do that to a child…I just don’t get it.

    Like

    July 26, 2014 at 11:49 am

    • Thanks so much hon, I dont understand it either. If anyone ever said something like that to one of my children, I promise you there would be a major fight goin on.

      Like

      July 26, 2014 at 11:55 am

  4. Haven’t been visiting much lately but I am glad I did today!
    That is a terrible thing to say to a seven year old. Luckily, you know that you are strong enough to go through anything! You should be very proud of your accomplishments.

    Like

    July 26, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    • Hey i was wondering where you been, havent seen any posts from you in a while, and thanks i am learning how to be proud of myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      July 26, 2014 at 1:04 pm

  5. That is a beautiful thing to say to a impressionable child, who first learns their self worth at home. Yes, belittle their very existence and that will surely be an acceptable method of parenting. -Sarcasm-
    I am floored, but understand this happens often. I would even go as far and say it is the norm for many families. Children are sponges and when a parent raises their child in the manner you mentioned above, they generally learn it from their parents. This time, it seems to have skipped you, because you broke the chain and did not impose that “parenting” model in your new family.
    To think, this negative behavior is coming from family. It is funny that they say blood is thicker than water. No…relationships are thicker than water. I know some people who have family members who treat them worst, than they treat a complete stranger who owes them money. Such a shame. But you have not allowed them to undermine your momentum.

    Like

    July 26, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    • Thankyou and one thing I can guarantee is that I have indeed broken the chain, no one will ever treat my children the way I was treated. Again thanks so much for stopping by and commenting it is appreciated.

      Like

      July 26, 2014 at 2:03 pm

  6. โ™กโ™กโ™ก I’m glad I found your blog. Keep posting.

    Like

    July 26, 2014 at 3:09 pm

  7. I am always grateful for what I learned from my family about how NOT to parent. I see you have the same gratitude!

    Like

    July 26, 2014 at 10:02 pm

    • Yes I do, im glad you also have not let it stop you and you chose to grow from your experiences. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      July 26, 2014 at 10:06 pm

  8. Proud of you! You go, girl!

    Like

    July 27, 2014 at 6:57 am

  9. I can so relate!!! Thanks for your sharing your strength and honesty through your blog! *hugs*

    Like

    July 28, 2014 at 9:16 am

  10. Reblogged this on mihran Kalaydjian and commented:
    I am Strong

    Like

    August 18, 2014 at 1:24 am

  11. What a great way to look at things that have happened to you during your life. You’ve turned a negative situation into an extremely positive experience, made yourself a better person because of it. In order to do that, yes, you DO have to be strong. And you are. Congratulations!

    Like

    August 18, 2014 at 9:58 am

    • Thankyou sweetie, I really appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      August 18, 2014 at 11:40 am

  12. I loved this post mostly because I could relate to this one hundred per cent! Thank you for sharing looking forward to reading more from you.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    August 18, 2014 at 1:01 pm

    • Thankyou so much, im sorry you could relate though, I dont wish the kind of life I had on anybody.

      Liked by 1 person

      August 18, 2014 at 1:31 pm

      • Yes..but its what makes us strong Im greatful. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        August 18, 2014 at 1:34 pm

  13. Stay strong in your faith and steadfast on your path…you’ve got it all going!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    August 19, 2014 at 8:23 am

Leave a Reply

