come check out my awesomness

Undeniably Meant To Be

me and darrell a month after we met, i was 17

me and darrell a month after we met, i was 17

My husband and I have over came so many obstacles in our life together, that i know without a doubt we are just meant to be with one another.
When we first met we were both hanging around a lot of trashy people, who did a lot of trashy things, anyway darrell asked me to go to dinner with him which was the first time anyone had ever asked me to go out with them in an appropriate way, i had been asked hey you wanna go get drunk? but never asked to dinner. So i was impressed just by that alone, everything was going great, and he made me laugh more than anyone i had ever met. about 2 weeks after we started dating, he used coke at a party we went to, and thats when i found out he was addicted to cocaine and that he had just gotten out of rehab, i told him we could still be friends but that i could not be with someone who did drugs. we had a long conversation about how rehab had told him he would continue to lose everything if he kept using, he said now i know they are right and he promised he would never use again. That was 13 years ago and he has been clean ever since. Now i was already an alcoholic when we met, i had even completed a.a. but i didnt really think i had a problem i just thought i was young and liked to party (i was wrong). years later i started getting ovarian cysts, which are really painful, so my doctor started giving me pain killers, things got bad, i was constantly going to the er or a different doctor, and when they stopped giving them to me i started buying them off the street. Fast forward a few more years later and darrell was the one helping me overcome my addictions to alcohol and pain pills. Now What are the odds, i mean darrell met me someone who was against drugs, in a place filled with drug addicts, that alone is a miracle, and if he hadnt who knows where he might have ended up. If i had looked at him that night and said no big deal its okay, would he have stopped using? God knew that he needed me back then, and that i would need him later on. We have both had moments where we felt like giving up, but we never wanted to give up at the same time, and we have pulled each other back from the darkest places, that most never come out of. He makes me a better person, as i do him, yes we have had some pretty terrible times in our relationship, but we fought for us and refused to quit. My marriage is one of the things i am most proud of, only coming second to our children. The last 2 years and 9 months we have both been clean and sober, and we are so happy, and so much more in love than ever before. we are both incredibly thankful to have found each other. We beat the odds, and I thank God every day for bringing us together.

47 responses

  1. motherhendiaries

    Bless you, Diana! 🙂 So very happy you are both clean and sober and still in love… I loved the bit about both wanting to throw in the towel from time to time, but never at the SAME time. I can so relate! And how happy I am all these years later that hubby and I stuck it out through the tough early years and got to “the good part” of marriage. Well done, you two!

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 12:04 pm

    • Thanks, I think that is the secret to a long marriage, its not magical its just never giving up at the same time.

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      • motherhendiaries

        We did – eventually – learn to dance very well to the same tune. Seriously, I could wish my happy marriage on anyone. As smug as that sounds, I really could! Longevity is “magical” in its own right. But those first 6 or 7 years were tough going… 🙂

        Like

        April 26, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      • Its not smug, I am very happy that you have such a wonderful marriage. You are such a sweet person, I always look forward to hearing from you.

        Like

        April 26, 2014 at 12:32 pm

      • motherhendiaries

        And I you, darling girlie! Have a lovely weekend…here in my quiet house, I miss the chaos of youngsters, and so live vicariously through other moms with busy lives. xx

        Like

        April 26, 2014 at 12:35 pm

  2. Beautifully said! Congratulations on your sobriety, you are a strong g woman who has endured and overcome alot! Thanks for sharing this part of you with us 🙂

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 12:58 pm

    • I am glad you liked it. AndThank you, for the compliment.

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 1:04 pm

  3. Lydia Devadason

    Massive congratulations on your sobriety and your relationship – you should be really proud of yourself 🙂

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    • Thanks, you know at first when people would tell me I should be proud, I always thought why? all I did was stop doing something that i wasnt supposed to be doing in the first place. But now I know how few people actually come back from addiction, so I am pretty proud of myself now.

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 2:40 pm

      • Lydia Devadason

        Yay, so you should be! 🙂

        Like

        April 26, 2014 at 2:41 pm

      • Thanks again

        Like

        April 26, 2014 at 2:42 pm

  4. Beautiful and inspiring! I love this story. We often hear about the deaths, suicides, bad deals, homelessness, etc. But this is a story worth sharing more and more. I am so very happy for you guys 🙂
    Blessings,
    Paul

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    • Thank you so much, I really hope the stories of my life will help others realize no matter how bad things are you can overcome anything and have a wonderful life.

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 3:34 pm

  5. Momz Happy Hour

    I’m so happy you found someone that loved you enough to get clean, and loved you enough to get YOU clean 🙂 that’s true love and I always believe God sends us those that we NEED in our lives, and places them right where we need them to be 🙂 I’m happy you’re both sober.

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    • Thank you, I know God had to have planned it that way, I mean it just worked out to perfectly to think otherwise.

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 8:37 pm

      • Momz Happy Hour

        exactly..you both helped each other. 🙂 God knew what he was doing.

        Like

        April 26, 2014 at 9:32 pm

  6. Wow that’s amazing! Congratulations to both of you for pulling through and being sober. This is really what unconditional love is. “Every FLOWER must grow through dirt” and honey you have bloomed 🙂

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    • Thank you so much, that is a beautiful way to put it.

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 10:18 pm

  7. This was quite powerful. I was just speaking to my mum about the power of relationships, telling her, “somethings are just understood” You help a person past the tough moments, without being asked. You do it because you love them. You and your husband radiate that. Congrats to your both on sobriety. You too are definitely a love story. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    April 28, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    • Thank you so much, we have definitely been through a lot, but it has made our love so much stronger, granted it didn’t at the time but I can honestly say that I love Darrell unconditionally, there is nothing he could ever do that would make me stop loving him.

      Like

      April 28, 2014 at 8:42 pm

  8. Heyyy… loved your story 🙂 its nice to know that you made a choice to win over your addictions. Very few of us find the courage to do that. And thanks for the follow on my blog.

    Like

    May 2, 2014 at 8:37 am

    • thank you, im glad you liked it. and your welcome

      Like

      May 2, 2014 at 8:40 am

  9. healthaddict00

    That is quite amazing and wonderful that you two have been able to help each other in that way.

    Like

    May 2, 2014 at 8:40 am

    • thanks, even though our mistakes brought us pain, at times a lot of pain, we are so much better for having went through it all.

      Like

      May 2, 2014 at 8:47 am

      • healthaddict00

        It’s all worth it in the end. It’s great that you and him have learned from your mistakes rather than most people who don’t and end up harming themselves or others even more.

        Like

        May 2, 2014 at 8:55 am

  10. Just wanted you to know what an amazing woman I think you are and how you inspire folks like me to be a better mom and wife every day.
    xo

    Like

    May 2, 2014 at 11:24 am

    • You are so sweet, I am literally tearing up. Why you wanna make someone cry? Lol

      Like

      May 2, 2014 at 11:26 am

      • That’s how I roll!

        Like

        May 2, 2014 at 11:30 am

      • Lol, I really did lol, thanks for the big smile.

        Like

        May 2, 2014 at 11:32 am

      • I’m so glad. Happy Friday my friend 🙂

        Like

        May 2, 2014 at 1:10 pm

  11. Pingback: Life is a Highway (Introduction and Vol. 1) | MamaMick

  12. Really precious, all the more in light of what you recently shared with me.
    Blessings,
    Diana

    Like

    May 20, 2014 at 8:41 pm

  13. I love how open you are with your story. I know there are many people out there who could get a ton of encouragement from you, having been there and come out of it. You rock!

    Like

    May 24, 2014 at 2:42 pm

  14. Valerie

    Such a beautiful change, with you both being there for each other. I often wonder where I would be, or where my spouse would be, if we hadn’t met. We are so happy now, and I can’t imagine my life without him!
    I’m so happy for you guys!

    Like

    May 24, 2014 at 8:49 pm

  15. Beautiful. You two managed to better each other as you walk the path in union. i Wanted to liked this post, but the phone has some glitch and i don’t have a computer with me. Still, very nice story shared. Good One, Diana. 🙂

    Like

    July 17, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    • Thankyou and no worries, I would much rather hear from someone about what they think than that anyway, I am on my phone to and it messes me up a lot. Anyway thanks for reading, im glad you liked it, and hope you have a great morning.

      Like

      July 17, 2014 at 9:03 pm

      • Thanks. You have a good night rest. 🙂

        Like

        July 17, 2014 at 9:12 pm

      • Thanks andy. 😉

        Like

        July 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

  16. Pingback: Unpolished and Earthy (Blog Tour) | MamaMick

  17. Congratulations to both of you and very well done 😀

    Like

    October 12, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

