come check out my awesomness

Poem from a recovering addict

images (37)images (36)I write of my life in hopes it may,

help someone, somehow, somewhere, some day,.

The truth sometimes hard to tell,

but to see the way, you must lift the vail.

So i tell my stories and let you in,

so you’ll know who i am and where i’ve been.

Read my words and learn from my error’s,

addiction is powerful, and creates many terrors.

Life is hard, of this there is no doubt,

but alcohol and drugs lead down the wrong route.

This is my message, take from it what you will,

but i speak the truth, i’ve lived it, i am the real deal.

24 responses

  1. mcfcwolf

    XO

    Like

    May 20, 2014 at 10:34 am

  2. machinegunmama

    I’m not all that into poetry, but that’s really good. I admire you for being open about addiction. I can admit publicly about being an alcoholic, but I’m too scared to admit to the other recovery I’m in publicly. I feel like saying it will make people not want to read my blog? But anyways, I’m feeling you!

    Like

    May 20, 2014 at 11:39 am

    • Thank you, and trust me at first I was very nervous about letting people see who I was, but everyone has been really encouraging, and I have made some wonderful new friends, that I admire very much. If you ever want to talk privately, you can email me, and I promise I will never judge you. : )

      Like

      May 20, 2014 at 11:45 am

      • machinegunmama

        Awesome, thank you

        Like

        May 20, 2014 at 11:47 am

  3. I love it! Thank you for that. I’ve been off drugs for about 6 years come June 2nd and i love my life now. Emotions still suck sometimes, especially when you’re not used to facing them for most of your life. But the sensations of happiness and love and friendship feels so much more powerful felt through a heart that isn’t numbed by drugs. I’m currently going back to college for a degree in Psychology so that I can do just what you’re saying in your poem Give back to people by sharing my past to help others not travel a road as bad as the one I chose. Being open and honest with people about your misfortunes will give them something to relate to. People, in general, seem to listen more to someone that has lived their life, rather then someone who read about it in a book. I hope to combine my past with a education to work with youth and young adults who struggle with violence, addiction, abusive homes, etc and help them not waste their lives with addiction, prison, death, etc.
    Thank you for your post and I hope thousands of more take the time to read them.

    Like

    May 20, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    • Thank you so much, and may I just say it is awesome that you are clean and going back to school to help others. And yes I completely agree relationships are so different and so much better, when you have a clear head. Thank you for taking the time to comment, and share a little bit of your story. I wish you all the luck in the world, in achieving your goals.

      Like

      May 20, 2014 at 12:09 pm

  4. Many will be helped. Writing brings others together and inspires those on that journey. Keep writing, its helpful

    Like

    May 21, 2014 at 7:26 pm

  5. Dear Diana…this is beautiful! I could see your brave wings unfurl with each line. You’re an amazing woman and I’m inspired by your courage and honesty. Xo

    Like

    May 21, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    • Thank you, you always make me smile. I hope yoy are feeling better.

      Like

      May 21, 2014 at 10:35 pm

      • I’m doing okay and thank you so much for asking 🙂

        Like

        May 21, 2014 at 10:37 pm

  6. Dear Mommyx4boys,
    I am a Psychotherapist in Cinnaminson, NJ and have written two books to help children cope with and understand alcoholism. These books were written at the request of a client who wanted to explain his alcoholism to his young daughter and was having trouble finding the “right” book to do the job.
    “Daddy’s Disease” and “Mommy’s Disease” have been on the cover of the “Courier Post”, featured on NPR’s “Voices in the Family” with Dr. Dan Gottleib, and on Take 12 Radio.
    I would very much appreciate your considering reviewing my books for your blog and would be happy to send you copies of the books if you are interested. (electronically or hard copy)
    Thank you so much for your time and for the good work you do.
    Best,
    Carolyn Hannan Bell, M.S., L.P.C.
    http://www.alcoholismhurtskids.com

    Liked by 1 person

    May 22, 2014 at 6:22 am

  7. Very courageous of you to talk about something as difficult as addiction. Kudos to you.

    Like

    May 22, 2014 at 9:21 am

    • Thank you very much, also i must say I am impressed that you came to check out my blog. ; )

      Like

      May 22, 2014 at 9:29 am

  8. It is wonderful and so important that you share your stories with others. People need to know that they are not alone and most importantly that there is a way out. That they can overcome and don’t have to remain prisoners of addiction.

    Like

    November 7, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    • Thankyou so much, it wasnt unil I heard the stories of others that I finally realized i wasnt the devil and I could fix my life.

      Liked by 1 person

      November 7, 2014 at 12:03 pm

  9. Amen Sister. Happy Friday.

    Like

    November 7, 2014 at 1:21 pm

  10. Openness and honesty is a massive part of recovery. Great to see and thanks for the piece i can relate so much from my past also

    Like

    May 9, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    • Absolutely, thanks so much for reading and sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

      May 9, 2015 at 9:09 pm

      • Check out my blog and podcast i think you might just relate to it all. Its all about addiction and mental health in real life terms. I think you will get a lot of identification. We do recover
        fightorflights.wordpress.com
        fight or flights…. Podcast on itunes

        Like

        May 9, 2015 at 10:00 pm

      • I definitely will check it out.

        Like

        May 9, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

