come check out my awesomness

Lost childhood

me

me

Lost childhood, this is something i think about quite frequently. Things like where would i be now if i had not wasted so much of my time drinking and doing drugs. you see i started drinking at a very early age. My wonderful mother let me get drunk for the first time at the ripe age of 9. And i loved how it made me feel, from that point on i gradually got worse, and by the age of 15 i had graduated alcoholics anonymous. by the way my mom helped me realize it didnt matter what i did the rest of the week as long as i wasnt drinking the day of my meetings, and that is how i graduated aa. It was a big joke in my family, i was diana their little alcoholic, no kidding that is what they called me, funny huh. I thought it was cool at the time. i never would have thought it would almost cost me my family and my life down the road. So those issues plus developing an addiction to pain pills a couple years after our 10 year old son was born, that equals a lot of wasted time, and missed opportunities. I never got to go to a school dance or prom, never got my license, never had a sweet sixteen party, and never graduated high school. and its not just the missed opportunities that bother me, but also that i thought all of it was normal. All the stupid stuff i saw my parents do, and the things i grew up with seemed normal to me. It wasnt until i met my husband that someone finally told me, hey that is really messed up. i just wish i had listened to him from the beginning, but i didnt i thought he was trying to control me. That was something my mother always used to say, men are only interested in 2 things sex, and controlling you. A part of me wishes i could go back in time and change these things. But the other part of me realizes that i would not be who i am now if i did that. And even though i may not be special or extraordinary by anybody elses standards, for the first time in my life i am very satisfied with myself.

8 responses

  1. I totally relate. I try to stay in the present but sometimes I can’t help but be pissed at all the things I know I would have already accomplished had my parents not screwed up my child psyche thus causing a chain reaction warped adult psyche.

    Like

    February 28, 2014 at 10:39 pm

  2. I’ve found that the pain we endure gives us unimaginable compassion. Because you survived, you can create a different life for your children and that’s amazing. šŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re satisfied with yourself now, please keep writing!
    Wishing you the best,
    `Jae

    Like

    June 3, 2014 at 11:14 am

    • Thank you, I agree completely, And no worries I am not going anywhere. Thanks for commenting. šŸ™‚

      Like

      June 3, 2014 at 11:19 am

      • You’re welcome. šŸ˜€ I’ll be back.

        Like

        June 3, 2014 at 11:21 am

  3. I can’t imagine growing up the way you did or all that you experienced, but to see that you have overcome it is both amazing and commendable!

    Like

    November 23, 2014 at 12:13 am

  4. You are special by all standards! Anyone who goes through what you have, comes out on the other side and has learned to become a better person is special in my book! You truly had to learn how to become a better person, wife and mother and that is nothing short of amazing! Good job šŸ™‚

    Like

    November 23, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    • Thankyou so much sweetie, that means a lot to me.

      Like

      November 23, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Leave a Reply

