come check out my awesomness

Overcome

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAimagesEveryone at some point in their life will have to overcome obstacles, and i am no exception. The 2 biggest things in my life that i have had to overcome are the death of my daughter and alcohol and drug addiction. When my daughter passed away i was in so much pain i wanted to give up on everything, and if it wasnt for my son needing me i would have. To lose a child is the most soul crushing experience there is, and my heart gos out to anyone else who has ever had to suffer through it. The only thing that brings me comfort is knowing that i will see my daughters beautiful face again when my time is up.  I have a very deep appreciation for my children and i am very emotional when it comes to a child or baby being mistreated, meaning if i see someone doing it i will go off on there head. (not kidding)

The second hardest thing i had to overcome was my addiction to alcohol and prescription pain killers. I have had a problem with alcohol since i was very young, i was 12 when my parents started to notice,  but they didnt care enough to try to stop me, so by the time i was 15 i had legally died twice , i was then put in AA and graduated even though i was drinking the whole time .  When  I was about 21 i developed an addiction to pain killers  after having several ovarian cysts rupture, the only time i was clean was when i was pregnant, if i wasnt pregnant i had something in my system. My rock bottom was in june of 2011. i weighed about 100 pounds, i would eat a mini bag of chips every few days, and i was drinking a half gallon of liquor plus a 12 pack every single day, and my tolerance to pills was so high that it wasnt worth buying them, i was away from my family, and about to lose them forever when Darrell asked me to come up while the kids were at his mothers, he said we would have fun so He  bought a bunch of alcohol just so i would come up. The next morning we talked about everything and he made me take a huge first step to getting clean, he made me pour all of the leftover alcohol down the sink, and i cried when i did it. After that i relapsed on july 26th of 2011, darrell married me 3 days later and i have been clean and sober ever since. so now i try to help people who have lost children or are dealing with addiction, i want everyone to know that no matter how bad things are they can always get better and there is hope.

What obstacles have you had to overcome in your life? If you feel like sharing you can do so in the comments, or if you want you can write a post about it and i will reblog it, as long as its clean.

 

18 responses

  1. 🙂

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 12:24 am

  2. You brought a tear to my eye with this one. You’re amazing to have been through all that and come out smiling, a true inspiration. Give Darryl a huge hug 🙂 x

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 3:40 am

  3. Honored to know you, Diana. Your kids and hubby are blessed to have you 🙂

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 6:29 am

    • ohhh thank you, it is an honor to know you as well. 🙂

      Like

      May 29, 2014 at 6:42 am

  4. Reblogged this on From One Crazy Life To Another and commented:
    What an AMAZING story! That’s simply inspiring. Thank you for participating in the Challenge!!!

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 6:39 am

    • thanks for the reblog. i really hope that sharing some of my story helps people realize that even if all the odds are against you, you can overcome.

      Like

      May 29, 2014 at 6:50 am

      • I hope so too, and I hope more people participate so that we can spread this. Ya know?

        Like

        May 29, 2014 at 6:52 am

  5. Well done. Your story is an inspiration and I am so happy you are using that recycled pain to help others know they CAN TOO! ☺

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    • Thanks hon, I have missed hearing from you, you are one of my best friends here on wordpress.

      Like

      May 29, 2014 at 2:46 pm

  6. You are living and breathing proof that one should never give up on themselves and never give up on someone else. You will see that little girl someday and she will say thanks mom for not giving up. Your an inspiration. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    • Thank you so much, your words are very appreciated.

      Like

      May 29, 2014 at 4:20 pm

  7. What an inspiration and a strong woman! Keep on going!

    Like

    May 29, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    • Thank you so much, a few years ago I never would have imagined someone saying that to me.

      Like

      May 29, 2014 at 6:34 pm

  8. Very inspirational post Diana 😀
    I think that all of us will get many challenges in our lives and then it is up to us to learn by them. Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Like

    December 31, 2014 at 11:24 pm

  9. You have certainly been through a lot, but it is so inspiring to hear of all that you have overcome. Keep it up! Your best years are still to come.

    Like

    January 1, 2015 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

