come check out my awesomness

Am I Crazy

D.J.

D.J.

Dominik and Donnie

Dominik and Donnie

I have been feeling so guilty and confused here lately. See we went and got our two youngest boys registered to start school in august and I am feeling very torn about it.
Donnie will be starting preschool, Dominik will be starting kindergarten, and Dj will be starting middle school. Now for a long time I was considering home schooling them, just because it seems so dangerous to even send them to school anymore, (especially middle school) but at the same time I am looking forward to them going. I mean then I could start working a bit more and bring in some extra income. I am just so scared that something bad will happen ( like Newtown ) and Im not sure if these feelings of dread are me being paranoid or if they are completely justified?
On one hand I realize that the odds of something like that happening are very small but on the other hand if I send them to school and something like that did happen it is not going to make me feel better that the odds were slim. I don’t know I guess I just wanted to get that off my chest and see if anyone else out there has felt the same way, if so let me know how you handled or are handling it, cause I feel like im gonna go crazy.

21 responses

  1. First thing that came to mind?
    Do not fear. S’all. I hear what you are saying though…

    You can only take so many precautions. DO the homework, know your stuff, and – trust in the process. It is not overprotective to protect them as much as YOU CAN. CAN, is the word… when you CAN NOT and have made decisions as wisely as you CAN – then I am afraid to say it but it is true…that is where, trust kicks in.

    There are always small chances of ANYTHING happening… it is how big we allow the fear to grow inside of us, and if it is warranted. Are you going to keep them by you forever JUST so YOU do not feel – guilty? šŸ˜‰ Don’t allow that to happen to you babe. Just let it go to where it needs to, and the ‘crazy’ will go. It will come back – oh hell yeah it will…
    IS the fear warranted and warning you – or are you worrying about the chance in relation to the chance of them choking on a peppermint? I ask that because what ARE the odds? Are they the same as ALL other odds we face raising human beings, or are they higher?
    WHat are the risks?
    I mean my eldest will be going of to uni soon (if she cuts the grade to get her bursary)
    DO you KNOW how scared I am?? Not cos I dont trust HER but because of the shit that MIGHT happen to her at the hands of the other people in the world?
    Choose the university carefully with her? DAMN straight!
    SO dont throw caution to the wind – but – do not fear beautiful ā¤
    AND heck yeah!! You are gonna miss them chick..and you are gonna also have a blast with them not needing you as much…mostly šŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    May 20, 2015 at 4:27 pm

  2. Its so good to hear from you and I know you are right, I guess its partly because with all my little ones out there I feel completely vulnerable. They do have security measures and such in place in case something happens but still they’re not as safe out there as they would be here with me, like you said though I cant keep em home forever.

    Like

    May 20, 2015 at 4:40 pm

  3. No, this is a reasonable fear today. I had the same one, and I feel much better now that the school has redesigned the lobby and other doors so that there is only one way in. They do lockdown practice more often than tornado drills. They lockdown whenever anyone is fleeing police in our town. Which is pretty canny of them. Getting familiar with their procedures might make you feel better, and if you don’t like how they handle emergencies, by all means, let the school board know!

    Liked by 1 person

    May 20, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  4. Yeah that sounds exactly like what our school does, and you have to speak into the little box thing and tell them who you are and why your there.

    Like

    May 20, 2015 at 7:47 pm

  5. I completely understand how you feel. It is a risk to send our children to school. Not only are they at risk of becoming a victim of a tragedy, but also a victim of bullying, bad influences and peer pressure. School is great for learning social skills and for the experience, but it certainly comes with its downsides. My son has always attended public school, but I’ll tell you this – I say a prayer every morning that I send him off. It’s a scary world out there. But with all this said, as much as we’d like to, we can’t protect them from everything. Tragedies can occur anywhere, anytime. We can’t be afraid to live.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 20, 2015 at 9:44 pm

    • Things have gotten so bad, 5 years ago I never would have thought things like that could happen at an elementary school.

      Like

      May 21, 2015 at 9:53 am

  6. I don’t allow myself to worry about things that haven’t happened. I especially don’t let myself worry about things that probably won’t happen.

    Like

    May 21, 2015 at 5:08 pm

    • That sounds great if you’re capable of doing it, but when it comes to my kids im just not capable of simply not worrying.

      Like

      May 21, 2015 at 5:11 pm

      • You’re not capable…hmmm…are you mentally impaired or are you making a hard value choice?

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:12 pm

      • Excuse me, I was not insulting you I was just saying if it were possible to just not worry then of course that is what I would do!

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:19 pm

      • Insulting me? Why would I be insulted. I’m trying to get you to think. This isn’t about me; it’s about you. Do you write to rant, to glorify, and/or to seek a solution to your problem? I replied, because it’s obvious to me by your statements that you are having a problem. Your problem is not school safety. Your problem is your thinking. Your unrealistic thinking is causing you to experience an emotional problem.

        There are emotional problems and practical problems as I outlined in this chapter. This is what I have to offer. You can choose to accept it or not. Good luck.

        https://analyticalperspective.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/practical-problem-vs-emotional-problem/

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:28 pm

      • I was talking about where you said are you mentally impaired, that was incredibly rude and disrespectful and I dont like it. The fact is bad things happen, now more than ever and if you never worry about your children perhaps you have a bigger problem than I. Just food for thought!

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:36 pm

      • You stated, “I am not capable.” That statement implies that you have mental impairment. If you have no mental impairment, then you are fully capable. I have a suggestion. Take personal responsibility by being honest by saying, “I am capable, but I don’t want to”. Take personal responsibility by not making assumptions in the future; instead, ask questions before you openly discredit yourself. Try not to react with emotion. Act with logic.

        https://analyticalperspective.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/assumptions-vs-reality/

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:41 pm

      • Well when it comes to my children I am very emotional as are most parents, perhaps it is easier for parents who dont have to be responsible for their children.

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:43 pm

      • Good luck.

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:44 pm

      • Appreciate it.

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:45 pm

      • Do you think it makes you sound like a better parent to tell people that you worry excessively? Something to consider is how your worry and paranoia will affect your children’s confidence. I’m not asking you to agree. Food for thought.

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:14 pm

      • No but I dont know of a single parent out there (that is worth anything that is) who never worries for their children.

        Like

        May 21, 2015 at 5:21 pm

  7. You show me a mama who doesn’t worry like this and I’ll show you a three-headed cow.
    I worry every day. My daughter is in college and my son is driving. We do the best we can, raise them to be good people, and pray like crazy.
    That said, I do a happy dance every time Dane makes it home from school. xo

    Like

    May 27, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    • You are a good mommy I can tell, I have no doubt you have raised two very smart and good kids.

      Liked by 1 person

      May 27, 2015 at 5:37 pm

      • Thank you, love! I’m trying šŸ™‚

        Like

        May 27, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

